École Handsworth Secondary
North Vancouver School District
Teams

Teams.jpg 


Athletic Director:  Rameses Langston

TEAMS 2019 - 2020
Students interested in Rugby, Football, Girls Soccer and other sports offered in the Spring season are encouraged check the teams listed under 'Spring 2020''.

Fall 2019
​TEAMSPONSOR​EMAIL​
Football Head Coach
​Mr. Darren Benning, Varsity Head Coach
Mr. Alex Benning, Varsity Assistant Coach
darren@petaconsultants.com

alex@petaconsultants.com 
​Students interested in Football are encouraged to find out more information HERE.​
​Mr. R. Langston, Athletic Director
rlangston@sd44.ca
Football FALL 2020
Current Grade 8 and 9 students (2019 - 2020) interested in playing Football in the Fall of 2020.  Are invited to an important meeting to discuss the upcoming season.  Tuesday, January 28 at 3:10 PM in Mr. Burtt's Room 241.
​Current Grade 8 and 9 students​Mr. T. Burtt
tburtt@sd44.ca
Bantam Football​Grade 8
​Mr. T. Burtt
tburtt@sd44.ca
​Junior Football​Grade 9 and 10
Interested players should contact Mr. T. Burtt, room 241
​Mr. T. Burtt
tburtt@sd44.ca
​Senior Football​Grade 11 and 12
​Mr. T. Burtt
tburtt@sd44.ca
Volleyball Head Coach
​Mr. A. Ahac, Volleyball Head Coach
aahac@shaw.ca

Volleyball Tryouts begin the first week of school.​
​​Bantam Girls Volleyball
TryoutsLarge Gym
Thursday, Sept 5 at 15:15
Friday, Sept 6 at 17:15
Monday, Sept 9 at 15:15
Tuesday, Sept 10 at 15:15
​Grade 8
Ms. A. Prior
Ms. S. Fraser
aprior@sd44.ca
Juvenile Girls Volleyball
TryoutsLarge Gym
Wednesday, Sept 4 at 19:15
Thursday, Sept 5 at 17:15
Friday, Sept 6 at 15:15
​Grade 9
​Ms. V. Maciver
vmaciver@sd44.ca
​​Junior Girls Volleyball
Tryouts:  Small Gym
Wed, Sept 4 at 19:15
Thur, Sept 5 at 17:15
Fri, Sept 6 at 17:15
​Grade 10
Mr. S. Pace
space@sd44.ca

​​Senior Girls Volleyball
Open Gym:  Tuesday, Sept 3 @ 18:00

Tryouts:  Large Gym
Wednesday, Sept 4 at 15:15
Thursday, Sept 5 at 19:15
Monday, Sept 9 at 19:15            Tuesday, Sept 10 at 17:15

​Grade 11 & 12
Mr. J. Murdock
Mr. A. Ahac, Volleyball Head Coach
jmurdock@sd44.ca
aahac@shaw.ca
​​Junior Girls Field Hockey
Blue & Gold

Tryouts:
Monday, Sept 9 at 15:30 Griffin
Tuesday, Sept 10 at 15:30 Rutledge (OR Griffin if Rutledge is not open yet)
Arrive ASAP after school
Plan to attend both sessions
​Grades 8, 9 & 10
​Ms. D. Sorensondsorenson@sd44.ca
​Senior Girls Field Hockey
Tryouts:
Thursday, Sept 5 at 06:45 Griffin
Friday, Sept 6 at 06:45 Griffin
Arrive at 06:30
Plan to attend both sessions
​Grades 11 & 12
​Ms. S. Schweglersschwegler@sd44.ca
​Junior Boys Soccer
1st practice:  Canyon Heights Elementary, Gravel Field
Wednesday, Sept 18 at 16:00
Questions?  Mr. Chang, room 231
Grade 9 and 10
​Mr. M. Changmchang@sd44.ca
Senior Boys Soccer
Tryouts:
William Griffin Park
Wednesday, Sept 3 at 15:30
Thursday, Sept 4 at 15:30
Questions?  Mr. Torres, room 218
​Grade 11 and 12
Mr. F. Torresftorres@sd44.ca
​Swimming
http://handsworthaquatics.com​​
Important meeting for all swimmers on Monday, Sept 9 at Lunch in the Learning Commons
All swimmers, all grades
​Mr. Rameses Langston

rlangston@sd44.ca
Cross Country
All runners, all grades welcome.  Practices Monday through Thursday, at 3:20 PM, meet on the Handsworth Track - ready to run!
​All runners, all grades

Dr. L. Maurice
Mr. R. Melcher (Coach)
lmaurice@sd44.ca
rynemelcher@gmail.com
Bantam (Grade 8) Boys Rugby
Information Meeting, Monday, September 9 in Room 115.  Questions?  Please see Mr. Ridge in Room 115 on Day 2s
​Open to Grade 8 Boys

Please see Mr. Ridge, room 115 on Day 2 or Mr. Langston, PE office if you would like to sign up.
Mr. F. Ridge
Mr. Rameses Langston
fridge@sd44.ca
Winter 2019 - 2020
TEAMSPONSOREMAIL

No Regrets Basketball Tournament
Spirit Games
​Thursday, December 5, 2019
Senior Girls at 11:30
Senior Boys at 13:45
Senior Boys Basketball
Grade 11 and 12 Boys Basketball Tryouts:
at Mountainside Secondary School,
3365 Mahon Ave, North Vancouver, BC V7N 3T7
November 5, 6 and 7 from 4:00 to 6:00 PM, please plan to attend all sessions. Questions?   Contact Mr. R. Storey

Grades 11 & 12

Mr. R. Storey, Head Coach


Ms. L. McHugh, Staff Sponsor

rastorey@sd44.ca

 

 

lmchugh@sd44.ca

​Junior Boys Basketball
Grade 10 boys are welcome to tryouts beginning Friday, November 8 at 3:00 PM, Large Gym.
Questions?  Contact Mr. Barrett, Main Office
Grade 10
​Mr. M. Barrett
mbarrett@sd44.ca
Juvenile Boys Basketball
Grade 9 boys are invited to attend:
Warm up and Drills:
Wed, Nov 6 at 7:45 PM Small Gym
Fri, Nov 8 at 7:15 AM Large Gym
Tryouts:
Wed, Nov 13 at 4:45 PM Small Gym
Thur, Nov 14 at 7:15 PM Large Gym
Questions?  Contact Mr. Vatougios, Room 211
Grade 9
​Mr. J. Vatougios
jvatougios@sd44.ca
Bantam Boys Basketball
Gold
Grade 8 Boys are invited to tryouts:
Tuesday, Nov 12 at 3:15 PM - Small Gym
Wednesday, Nov 13 at 3:15 PM - Small Gym
Thursday, Nov 14 at 7:15 AM - Large gym
Questions?  Contact Mr. Pankiw spankiw@sd44.ca

​Grade 8
​Mr. S. Pankiw
spankiw@sd44.ca
Bantam Boys Basketball
Blue

​Grade 8
​Ms. D. Sorenson
dsorenson@sd44.ca
​Sr. Girls Basketball
Grade 11 and 12 Girls Basketball Open Tryouts:
Wednesday, Nov 6 at 8:00PM Lg Gym
Wednesday, Nov 13 at 7:45PM Lg Gym
Thursday, Nov 14 at 4:45 PM Sm Gym
Sunday, Nov 17 at 5:30PM Lg Gym
Questions?  Contact Mr. Pace, Room 119
Grades 11 & 12
​Mr. S. Pacespace@sd44.ca
Junior Girls Basketball
Grade 10 Girls are invited to Tryouts:
Thursday, Nov 14, 6:15-7:45 PM Large Gym
Friday, Nov 15, 3:45-5:45 PM Large Gym
Tuesday, Nov 19  6:15 - 8:45 PM Large Gym
Questions?   Contact Mr. Pace
Grade 10


​Mr. M. Chang
mchang@sd44.ca
Juvenile Girls Basketball
Grade 9 Girls are invited to come to the Large Gym:
Tuesday, Nov 12 at 7:45 - 9:15 PM
Thursday, Nov 14 at 6:15 - 7:45 PM
Friday, Nov 15 at 3:45 - 5:15 PM
Questions?  Contact Mr. Pace (Coach), Room 119
.
Grade 9

​Ms. M. Cassel
mcassel@sd44.ca
Bantam Girls Basketball
Blue and Gold
Grade 8 Girls are invited to tryouts in the Small Gym:
Tuesday, November 12 at 4:45 PM
Thursday, November 14 at 3:15 PM
Questions?  Contact Mr. Langston rlangston@sd44.ca, Large Gym
​Grade 8
​Ms. D. Sorenson
dsorenson@sd44.ca
Gymnastics (at Argyle)​(604) 903-3300
argyle@sd44.ca
​Wrestling (at Carson)​(604) 903-3555
carsongraham@sd44.ca
Ski and Snowboard Club​Information Meeting
Thursday, December 5 at Lunch 12:40 PM
Room 127
HSS Ski Team 2020.pdf
​Mr. M. Hansen
markhansen@sd44.ca

Spring 2020
TEAM
SPONSOREMAIL​
​Badminton
Junior Tryouts, Thursday, Feb 27, 3:30 to 5:30pm
Senior Tryouts, Friday, Feb 28, 3:30 to 5:30pm
Names of players on the Junior and Senior teams are posted outside Room 103.  Practices begin Thursday, March 5 and Friday, March 6 at 3:15pm to 5:30 pm in the Large Gym.


Ms. R. Lewrlew@sd44.ca
​Spring Football Grade 8
Grade 8 Bantam Football training camps start up in April 2020, and is open to ALL Grade 8 students.  Please contact Mr. Burtt in Room 241 for more information.  Football Grade 8 Spring Announcement.pdf
ALL Grade 8 students interested in playing Bantam Football this Spring are invited to an important meeting Wednesday, February 19 at 3:15pm in Mr. Burtt's Room 241.
​Mr. T. Burtt

tburtt@sd44.ca

Football September (Fall) 2020
Current Grade 8 and 9 students (2019 - 2020) interested in playing Football in the Fall of 2020.  Are invited to an important meeting to discuss the upcoming season.  Tuesday, January 28 at 3:10 PM in Mr. Burtt's Room 241.
Mr. T. Burtttburtt@sd44.ca
Spring Football
Junior Grades 9 & 10

Senior Grades 11 & 12
​Open to any new or past players:

Juniors start practice third week in May and end with a Jamboree in June.
Seniors start practice last week in May 30 and end with a game on Vancouver Island.

Any players paying Rugby are excused from attending football practices until the rugby season is complete.

​Sponsor:
Mr. T. Burtt

Junior Coach:
Mr. Alex Benning

Spring Senior Head Coach:
Mr. Darren Benning

tburtt@sd44.ca


alex@petaconsultants.com 



darren@petaconsultants.com

​Golf
Information meeting Monday, March 2, at Lunch in Room 218
Students interested in playing on the Handsworth Golf Team please see Mr. Torres in Room 218.
Mr. F. Torres
ftorres@sd44.ca
Girls Rugby
Grades 8 to 12
No experience required.
Practices begin the week of February 17 - 19, after school on the Handsworth field.  Bring your mouth guard and cleats.
Open to all girls in grades 8 to 12, no experience required.  Information meeting Monday, January 20 at Lunch 12:40 PM in room 241.
Staff Sponsor:
Mr. R. Langston

Ms. Lia Cove

rlangston@sd44.ca

lcove@sd44.ca
Junior Boys Rugby​


Open to grade 9 and 10 boys.  IMPORTANT Information meeting Monday, February 3 in room 115 at Lunch.

Junior boys interested in playing Rugby this Spring should contact Mr. Ridge in Room 115 on day 2s.

​Mr. F. Ridge
Mr. R. Langston
fridge@sd44.ca
rlangston@sd44.ca
​Senior Boys Rugby​Open to grade 11 and 12 boys.  Information meeting Tuesday, January 14 in room 115, at Lunch 12:00 PM.

Senior Boys in Grade 11 and 12 interested in playing Rugby this Spring should contact Mr. Ridge in Room 115 on day 2s.
​Mr. F. Ridge
Mr. R. Langston
fridge@sd44.ca
rlangston@sd44.ca
​Junior Girls Soccer
Grade 8, 9 and 10 girls are invited to tryout:  Wednesday, February 19 right after school at the Fen Burdett Field, 1648 Jones Ave, North Vancouver
Questions???  See Ms. MacDonald

Information meeting for girls in Grades 8, 9 and 10 who are interested in trying out for the Junior Girls Soccer Team.
Meeting on Monday, January 27 at the start of Lunch in Room 115.

Ms. T. MacDonald
tmacdonald@sd44.ca
Senior Girls Soccer
Grade 10, 11 and 12 girls are invited to tryout:  Tuesday, February 18 at 6:45am at the William Griffin Field
Questions???  See Ms. MacDonald

Information meeting for girls in Grades 10, 11 and 12 who are interested in trying out for the Senior Girls Soccer Team.
Meeting on Thursday, January 30 at the start of Lunch in Room 215

Ms. S. Johnson
sjohnson@sd44.ca
​Mountain Bike Team

Do you like to ride a bicycle?
Come learn more about the Mountain Bike Team Wednesday, March 4 at Lunch in Room 119.

Questions???  See Mr. Holt bholt@sd44.ca

Mr. B. Holt
bholt@sd44.ca
​Ultimate Frisbee
Senior Tryouts:  Friday, Feb 28 at 3:30pm Feb Burdett Field
Junior Tryouts:  Monday, March 2 at 3:30pm William Griffin Field
Questions???  See Mr. Pace
space@sd44.ca
​Information meeting for ALL students interested in playing Ultimate Frisbee in Room 119 at Lunch 1:00pm on Wednesday, February 19.
Mr. M. Forsythmforsyth@sd44.ca
​Jr. Tennis
​Ms. V. Shanks
vshanks@sd44.ca
​Sr. Tennis
Ms. V. Shanks
vshanks@sd44.ca
Track and Field

Information meeting in Room 121 on February 6 after school.  ALL students welcome to join the track & field team.
Questions?  Contact Dr. Maurice


E-mail lmaurice@sd44.ca to be added to the team list for communications.
Coach:
Mr. R. Melcher

Sponsor:
Dr. L. Maurice
rynemelcher@gmail.com



lmaurice@sd44.ca