North Vancouver School District
the natural place to learn©
News Item


2016 Civic Youth Awards

May 04, 2016


The Civic Youth Awards Program recognizes District youth between the ages of 10 and 24 years and supporters of youth, for their noteworthy achievements and contributions they make in our community.

Here are the winners for 2016.

Category: Youth Recognition Award

This award recognizes youth who made noteworthy achievements, or exhibited commitment to personal change and growth, including:

  • making great personal strides
  • overcoming personal or societal barriers
  • demonstrating or possessing outstanding music, scholastic, art, or sports acumen

2016 award recipients

Evan GrathamArgyle Secondary School
Jack PalmerArgyle Secondary School
Sabrina LupisArgyle Secondary School
Brittney DonovanCarson Graham
Catriona ConnerCarson Graham
Mary GodinLynn Valley Elementary
Ashlynn ProwseMountainside Secondary
Cassandra BillyMountainside Secondary
Hailey NicolMountainside Secondary
Roberto (Chui) CaneteMountainside Secondary
Rylee WalkerMountainside Secondary
Teyla SummersMountainside Secondary
Sierra StarSeycove Secondary
Abbey DoucetWindsor Secondary
Claire DunneWindsor Secondary
Naomi KennedyWindsor Secondary
James Hummell  

Category: Youth Community Enhancement Award

This award recognizes youth who made positive contributions to the community on a voluntary basis, such as serving on a committee, or other volunteer work with organizations and groups. All nominees must have provided a minimum of 75 hours of school or community services work.

2016 award recipients

Christina ActonArgyle Secondary School
Kayleigh Doan-AdamsArgyle Secondary School
Rebecca RechlinArgyle Secondary School
Emily HanzekCapilano University
Sam PapaliaKenneth Gordon Maple School
Griffin AytonMountainside Secondary
Calvin KamSaint Thomas Aquinas
Sophia FisherSentinel Secondary
Roderick LouisSeycove Secondary
Marika Allen-MangoldWindsor Secondary
Ximen Diaz-LopezWindsor Secondary 

Category: Outstanding Youth Friendly Business/Supporter of Youth Award

This award recognizes a business or individual that performed an exceptional job in hiring or training youth, providing opportunities to youth, providing funding for youth activities, or provided support and services to youth (support could be for one youth or a number of youth).

2016 award recipients

  • Djj's Wedge Pizza, Upper Lonsdale
  • Bean Around the World, Parkgate
  • Fran Jones
  • Kenneth Montgomery
  • Mike Pesek

Category: Outstanding Youth Team Award

This award recognizes a group of youth who have completed a minimum of 50 hours per person of community (or school) service, resulting in enhanced programs or services for their school or community.

2016 award recipients

Project: Schools for Africa

  • Anika Koskela, Argyle Secondary 
  • Teagan Sharrock, Argyle Secondary 
  • Kenzie Hoffman, Argyle Secondary 

For more information visit: