North Vancouver School District
the natural place to learn©
North Vancouver Board of Education

2014/2018 Board of Education

The Board is collectively responsible for making the major policy decisions governing all aspects of education within the School District as mandated in the School Act. The North Vancouver Board of Education is composed of seven elected trustees. The electors of the District of North Vancouver elect four trustees of the Board of Education and the electors of the City of North Vancouver elect three trustees.

School District No. 44 Board of Education

Liaison schools: Sutherland Family of Schools
Brooksbank, Eastview, Queensbury, Ridgeway

Trustee Jessica Stanley
Board Vice Chair
Liaison schools: Argyle Family of Schools
Boundary, Lynn Valley, Ross Road, Upper Lynn

Trustee Barry Forward
Liaison schools: Handsworth Family of Schools
Canyon Heights, Cleveland, Highlands, Montroyal

Trustee Cyndi Gerlach
          Liaison schools: Windsor Family of Schools
    Blueridge, Lynnmour, Seymour Heights

Trustee Megan Higgins 
             Liaison schools: Carson Graham Family of Schools
Larson, Queen Mary, Westview

​​Trustee Susan Skinner
Liaison schools: Seycove Family of Schools
Cove Cliff, Dorothy Lynas, Sherwood Park

Liaison schools: ​Mountainside Secondary & NV Distributed Learning
Braemar, Capilano, Carisbrooke, Norgate

Each Board member assumes a liaison role with a number of schools in the District. The Board of Education may be contacted through the school's Parent Advisory Council, at School Board meetings, or through the Superintendent's office.
Regularly scheduled School Board meetings are held monthly during the school year and are open to the public. Click here to link to the Board's schedule of public meetings.

At the Local General Elections on November 15, 2014, voters in the City of North Vancouver and the District of North Vancouver elected the following School Trustees:

City of North Vancouver (three elected)
Susan Skinner
Megan Higgins
Christie Sacré

District of North Vancouver (four elected)
Jessica Stanley
Barry Forward
Cyndi Gerlach
Franci Stratton

Trustees to the newly-elected 2014/2018 Board of Education were sworn into office at the Public Inaugural Board Meeting on Tuesday, December 9, 2014.


At the Public Meeting on Tuesday, December 6, 2016, the North Vancouver Board of Education conducted its annual election for Chair and Vice Chair for the term commencing January 1, 2017 through November 30, 2017 or until a successor has been elected.

Trustee Christie Sacré was elected as Chair. 

Trustee Jessica Stanley was elected Vice Chair.